top of page


4CSD proudly presents annual awards to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of the PD Practitioners in the California Community College system.

Nominations for all-new 2023 awards are now closed.

Past Award Winners

Above & Beyond the Call of Duty Award

(In Memory of Connie Lowery)

2022: Jan Schardt, Napa Valley College (Retired)

2007: Mike McHargue, Foothill Community College
2006: Paul Stark, California Community Colleges System Office
2005: Kristina Kauffman Elsayed, Riverside Community College
2004: Jim Marteney, Los Angeles Valley College
2003: Mark Knight, Riverside Community College, & 4C/SD web site administrator
2002: Michelle DeVol, Sierra College
2001: Albert Miranda, Cypress College

Executive Board Award

2022: Leslie Carr, College of the Canyons

2015: Dr. LeBaron Woodyard, Dean of Academic Affairs, Chancellor’s Office California Community College
2007: CETC Ambassador Program
2006: California Community College Classified Senate
2005: CCC Confer
2004: FACCC
2001: California Community Colleges Classified Senate
2000: California Community Colleges Foundation
1999: Community College Foundation
1998: California Community College League

4CSD Leadership Award

(In Memory of Lorraine Berry)

2022: Kelly Falcone, Palomar College

2016: Mary Kay Englen, De Anza College
2006: Bea Griffiths, Santa Rosa Junior College
2003: Nancy Stetson, Company of Experts
2002: Eleanor Gajewski, Golden West College
2001: Mike McHargue, Foothill College
2000: Cindra Smith, Community College League of California
1999: Nixson Borah, Fullerton College
1998: Sue Parmenter, Cypress College
1997: Robbie Bos, Rio Hondo College
1996: Charles Miller, Santa Rosa Junior College
1995: Sharon Ratliffe, Golden West College
1994: Dick Ryerson, Mt. San Antonio College
1993 Jo Sumner, Sierra College

Innovative Activity Award

2022: Fullerton College: Culturally Responsive Training for Faculty

2018: Mt. San Antonio College – Why We Drop: Strategies for Improving Earl-Term Retention
2017: Ventura County Community College District – Training & Tours Program
2003: Merced College Customer Service Academy
2002: Mike McHargue, Foothill College Tuesdays with Mikey
2001: College of the Canyons Administrative Leadership Program
2000: Los Angeles Community College District Administrative Leadership Program
1998: Chaffey College College Book Program
1996: American River College Resource Center
1997: Golden West College
1995: Napa College Leadership Program
1994: San Joaquin Delta College
1993: Los Angeles Southwest College ManChild Conference

Campus Leadership Award

1997: Ana Gorres Bower, Cerritos College
1996: Dave Nakaji, Los Medanos College

Outstanding Program Award

2022: Southwestern College - Advancing Equity Teaching Academy

2018: Santa Rosa Junior College – Embracing a Culture of Inclusion
2017: Cerritos College – Center for Teaching Excellence
2003: Southwestern College
2001: Los Angeles City College
2000: Santa Rosa Junior College
1998: Foothill College
1995: Mt. San Antonio College
1994: Sacramento City College

President/Chancellor Award

2002: Margie Lewis, President, Cypress College

2001: Margaret A. Gratton, President, Orange Coast College

2000: Kevin Ramirez, Superintendent/President
Sierra Joint Community College District/Sierra College

1999: Dianne G. Van Hook, Superintendent/President
Santa Clarita Community College District/College of the Canyons

bottom of page